Oh, it’s over?

I see the baseball season has finally come to an end.  Now, people that know me know that I love baseball, and especially the Chicago Cubs.  I may love baseball and the Cubs more than just about anything.  But this year, I don’t think I saw a single Cubs game after the All-Star Break.  And if I am being honest, I don’t think I saw many before the All-Star Break either.

There are many reasons for this of course.  I was working full time for the first time in 12 years.  WGN seems to be carrying fewer and fewer Cubs games.  I didn’t have time to get to Wrigley Field this year.

However, I believe the #1 reason why I washed my hands of the Cubs so early this year is this:

They Sucked.

And I have stood by them through a lot of losing seasons.

We lost 101 games this year.  101.  Yeesh that’s a lot of games to lose.  You almost have to be trying to lose that many games.  Of course that means we won 61 games. But that is not  a good average.  In fact we only won about 37% of our games.  Hideous.

We even had a losing record at home for crying out loud.  In the Friendly Confines.  With all the Cubs faithful in attendance (although maybe not so much this year).  We were 38-43 at home, and an even more dismal 26-38 on the road.  Embarrassing.

So, once again Cubs fans wait until next year.

In the meantime I will be rooting for the As this post-season. Just because.

Leave a Reply

