The Accidental Garden

There is a tomato plant growing next to my patio.  I had nothing to do with it.  I suspect some bird or squirrel or chipmunk must have dropped a tomato seed there earlier this summer.

I discovered this rogue plant a week or so ago and told the kids about it.  They said “cool”.  I told them I was pretty sure we wouldn’t get any tomatoes, but that it was kind of cool anyway.

Well, guess what?

Yep, tomatoes.  I propped the plant up on an empty flowerpot once I noticed these little guys.  The kids want to know when we can eat them.  Frankly I’m pretty sure we won’t get the chance.  I suspect the woodland creatures that delivered the tomato plant in the first place will be claiming their prizes.

And even if they don’t, I am not sure I can eat these tomatoes.  It doesn’t feel like they belong to me.  Does that sound weird?

 

2 thoughts on “The Accidental Garden

    • Thanks. If the plant can continue to survive on benign neglect and the chipmunks don’t get to the tomatoes first, maybe we’ll get to eat them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

