Mayhem

I have not been blogging about F1 much this year.  I don’t know why really.  I love it just as much as ever, but for whatever reason I am just not writing about it.  Not that I think anybody really cares.

This weekend’s race was at Spa in Belgium.  I hate this race.  It always rains and I hate that.  I worry there will be crashes and people will get hurt.  Well, the good news is, it didn’t rain.  But, see this?

Yeah, the cars are not supposed to look like that.  Four cars got taken out of the race in the first corner thanks to Roman Grosjean.  He tried to pass Lewis Hamilton, and was far too optimistic about his chances.  And as a result we get this:

Alonso was on the bottom of that pile in his Ferrari.  One car ran over the front of his car, another one almost ran over his head.  All I can say is thank goodness I was watching in the evening drinking a beer instead of in the morning drinking coffee.  I fear my heart might have burst right out of my chest.  It was only the Rolling Rock that saved me.

It took Alonso a while to get out of the car.  The medical staff was talking to him and everything.  That is not usually a good sign.  As an experiment during this time I thought I would see how many times I could say ohmygodohmygodohmygod with inhaling.  The answer is really a lot.

Of course the important things here are nobody got hurt, nobody got hurt, and nobody got hurt.

And it just goes to show you that even when it doesn’t rain you can get taken out of the race through no fault of your own.

But I still don’t like it when it rains, and I still hate this track.

 

 

Leave a Reply

