Nom Nom Nom

Behold:

I made poutine.  That’s right, I.  Made.  It.  And it was goooood.

Regular subscribers will remember my deep and abiding love for poutine, a Canadian delicacy I discovered at the Grand Prix of Canada in Montreal.  It is so delicious.  For you poor souls who do not know what it is, it is the sweet nectar of the gods, it is a carbohydrate junkie’s fondest wish, it is french fries with gravy and cheese curds.

While dining out on poutine in Canada last month, Rick and I were contemplating the possibility of making poutine at home.  I had always assumed it was impossible, because as regular subscribers might also remember, I am terrified of deep frying anything.  That much hot oil scares the bejeezus out of me.  So I had pretty much written off poutine as something that could only be ordered, not made.

Ah, but our waitress, upon hearing about my dilemma said I should just make it with oven fries.  That they would be just as good and a lot less complicated (and frightening) than frying my own.

So I tried it.

Now, in Canada you can actually purchase poutine gravy in the grocery stores.  It is in the same aisle with the canned turkey gravy that one should always have on hand for Thanksgiving to make sure the homemade gravy turns out.  I do not have poutine gravy in my grocery store, but the turkey gravy was a fine substitute.  I also used Kraft cheese crumbles instead of cheese curds because they were smaller and I suspected they would get melty faster.  I was right.

It needs a little refining.  It could have used more gravy for example.  And perhaps I should have left the fries in the oven just another minute or two. But for a first attempt I give it two thumbs up.  And the best news is, I still have more than half a jar of gravy left, so I can make it again tomorrow.

One thought on “Nom Nom Nom

  1. I LOVE Poutine, and being an honourary Canadian, I crave it. My poutine mix connection is no longer with us. I will have to acquire some when I am up there next month. I’ve made it at home and it’s not quite the same as you get there though. Must be the cheese curds I use. I use beef gravy if i try to make it here, seems to be closer to what I get up there. I have been craving this…along with other nasty unhealthy carbs that are so yummy.

Leave a Reply

