The Perfect food day

Regular subscribers know that I have a not-so-secret love of junk food.  It’s true.  I would eat it all the time if I didn’t think it would kill me.  In fact, I plan to eat at McDonalds every day once I reach my 80th birthday.  I realize this may cut down on the number of years available to me, but my quality of life will be amazing.

Anyway, today was just about the perfect food day.  I was at my sister’s house in the Chicagoland Metropolitan Area this morning, so we went out for lunch.  And where did we go?  Portillos.  Home of the most delicious Italian Beef.  I hear they make a killer Chicago dog too, but I wouldn’t know because I only ever have the Italian Beef.  A 6-inch with sweet peppers, dipped.  It is so delicious.  I love it.  I have one every time I go home to Chicago.  Sometimes I have two or three.  But, this trip I only had time for one.  Tell me this doesn’t look amazing:

I didn’t think to take a picture of my lunch, which looked exactly like this.  But I found this photo here.

After lunch I went to O’Hare to pick up the Princess.  She had been on a Royal visit to see my brother in San Francisco.  We drove to Michigan straight from the airport.  And of course if you are driving to Michigan you have to stop at Redamak’s for dinner.  Did I mention it was in the Midwest Living Magazine list of top 25 burger joints?  And this is only correct.  I did take a picture of my dinner.  Here it is in all it’s glory

Yum.  And the Princess taught me something new.  Dipping your french fries in your chocolate shake.  It is delicious.  It has a kind of hot/cold, sweet/salty thing going on.  I love it.

Now if only I had thought to have Dunkin Donuts for breakfast I would have had the trifecta.  Oh well.  Another time.

One thought on “The Perfect food day

Leave a Reply

