Will wonders never cease?

I don’t usually blog much about food, but today I am making an exception.  And here is why:  Tonight a miracle occurred in our household.

I found a recipe on Pinterest for a one-dish meal with potatoes, and onion, and red pepper and Italian sausage that looked pretty good.  So I pinned it to my feed me board and figured I would make it sooner or later.

I made it tonight.  Which brings me to our miraculous event.  Everybody liked it.  I had a huge pan full of the stuff (which we have christened “the sausage potato thing” – catchy isn’t it?) and I was planning on getting a couple of lunches out of it.  Nope.  We ate the entire pan.  A whole pound of sausage, two giant baking potatoes, half an onion and an entire red bell pepper.  Gone.

You have no idea, this never happens.  So, since this is clearly a miracle food.  I will share it with you, along with a link to the official version.

Sausage Potato thing

2 big baking potatoes peeled and cut into approximately 1 inch chunks

1/2 a large yellow onion peeled and cut into chunks

1 red pepper seeded and cut into chunks (do you see a theme here).

Toss all those with about 2 teaspoons of olive oil and some salt and pepper.  Put them in a 13×9 baking dish and chuck that in a 375 degree oven for about 15 minutes.  Then slice up some Italian Sausage (I used the turkey kind – less greasy)  toss that in the pan with the spuds and onions and peppers after their 15 minute head start.  Stir it up if you want.  Set the timer for another 30ish minutes and Bob’s your uncle.  Delicious.  And miraculous.

The official version is here:

Skinnytaste.com

Enjoy

Leave a Reply

