Froggers wanted

Do you see this:

It is a mitten.  A complicated two-color stranded work mitten.  And it is a disaster.  You can’t see it in the picture but the color work is a mess.  All bumpy and puckery and generally not very nice.  And I hear many of these problems can be solved with blocking but there is one other massive problem.  It doesn’t fit.

The thumb hole hits me in a weird place and I can tell it would be misery to wear them.  So now I have to frog it and think of something else to do.  But I am having a hard time.

I keep trying the mitten on.  I guess I am thinking that somehow the thumb hole will have magically repositioned itself since the last time I tried it on.  And I don’t know why this is bothering me so much.  The whole project was kind of an experiment anyway, because I wanted to knit something with two colors.  So, mission accomplished.  Now I just have to frog the stupid thing.

In case you are wondering what frogging is, it is pulling the needles out and unravelling the whole thing right down to nothing.  It is called frogging because you are ripping the stitches back.  (Rip-it, rip-it.  Get it?)  Because it is two colors of yarn frogging will be an especially large pain in the ass (sorry mom).  But it has to be done.  Maybe I will do it after work tonight.  After I have had a glass of wine or two.  Unless somebody wants to come over and do it for me.

Ugh.

One thought on “Froggers wanted

  1. Read my mimd Babe. I had no idea what frogging was (didn’t think it one of those that things that involved relatives of Kermit) and was going to ask. Gotta admit, the mitten does look way cool. That’s my mittenadmittance for the day. R

Leave a Reply

