Nanowrimo ate my soul

That is the name of one of the forum topics at nanowrimo.org.  And oh, it is so very very true.

Things are not going well this year.  I don’t know why not.  Maybe too much has happened this year.  Maybe I shouldn’t have even bothered trying to write a novel.  Heaven knows this one is really really bad.  I mean even worse than the other two.

I am also way way behind.  My word count is only just over 13,000 words.  That is way below par.  And when you are trying to write a novel in a month, being below par is a bad thing.

So, I don’t really know what to do.  I just feel like nothing is happening in this stupid book.  And it is not supposed to be a book about nothing.  I thought it was going to be a romance but it doesn’t seem to want to be that either.

I suppose I could start over.  Come up with something completely different while conveniently hanging onto the 13,454 words I have already written.  I know, that sounds like cheating but it isn’t.  Remember, one of the first rules of The Nano is NEVER DELETE!  Yes, I know I was yelling.  I meant to do that.

Maybe my main character could go on an axe murdering rampage, or decide to become a man, or give up all her worldly possessions and move to a small town in Oklahoma.  I really have no idea.

Sigh.  Maybe I am not going to win this year.  That kind of sucks.

 

Leave a Reply

