30 days and nights of literary abandon

It’s that time again…time for National Novel Writing Month.  This is my fourth attempt and cranking out a 50,000 word manusscript in 30 days.  I have managed to actually complete the task twice.  Hopefully I can do it again this year too.

Unfortunately, this year my idea is even thinner and sketchier than usual.  I am kind of making this up as I go along.  I mean, I suppose all fiction writers make it up as they go along, but this year I am really flying by the seat of my pants.  Or, as they say on some of the Nano forums, “pantsing it”.  I am still not even sure what my main character’s names are, never mind what they are doing.

The good news is, you only have to write 1600-ish words a day.  And really, that is not that hard.  You just have to remember a couple tricks.  First, describe absolutely everything.  Second, never ever wever use contractions.   Also, always say “he said” or “she said” after your character says something.  It seriously breaks up the flow, but it pads your word count and you can always take them out in December.  And finally, never delete anything.

So watch this space to see what happens.  You can keep track of my word count over there on the right.

Leave a Reply

