Wheeling and Dealing

Whew!  I am exhausted.  The children and I have just finished a marathon, two and a half hour game of Monopoly.  I can’t even remember the last time I played a game of Monopoly all the way to the bitter end.  But we did it today.

It was cold and rainy again today, and Olivia has a sore knee, so a trip to a museum or a mall was not a good idea.  We decided to stop by T’s house and pick up the Monopoly game on our way to the library.  Then we came home and got down to business.

My original strategy was diversification.  The plan was simple.  Buy everything I landed on, and then make sure nobody else has all the properties of the same color.  And I think it would have worked if I hadn’t landed on the Go To Jail space three times in a row, and you know what that means.  Do not pass go, do not collect $200.  That was a lot of cash I missed out on.  Eventually I had to sell and that was the downfall of The Princess and I.

The C-man went with a variation of his usual slum lord/railroad tycoon strategy.  He had all the railroad and both utilities, but instead of the cheap properties he managed to get his hands on Boardwalk and Park Place.  The he put hotels on them.  Well, it was only a matter of time after that.

I lost.  Big time.  C-Man was the clear winner with over $5,000 in his hot little hands.  O had about 20 bucks to her name.

The big surprise in all this is nobody argued.  I did not have to put on my striped shirt and referee, and  nobody burst into tears when the game was over.  Clearly we are getting the hang of this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

