Back to Work

The kids went back to school last week, and I went back to work.

I have been a Woman of Leisure (that sounds so much better than Kept Woman) since The C-Man was born but it was time to dive back into the typing pool.  However, I am not typing.  Instead, I am working as an EA at one of the local elementary schools.  The very same elementary school, in fact, that Princess O and The C-Man attended.  Both of them have now moved on to the middle school, so me hanging around their alma mater all day doesn’t cramp their style.

At the moment my schedule can best be described as a free for all.  I go where I am needed exclusively.  I spend a lot of time on the lookout for lost kindergarters.  They are easy to spot.  They are the teeny tiny ones turning around in circles in the lunchroom or the hallway looking for their teacher.  Part of my job is to help them get where they need to go.  They will get the hang of it before too much longer.

Once the first full week is over I will have a more defined, set routine, spending time with the same teachers and kids every day.  But I have to say, so far I really love it.

The only downside, (and it is very minor) is I work from 10:30-2:30 every day.  And I don’t get a break for lunch.  So by the end of the day I am STARVING, and I end up eating lunch at 3 o’clock in the afternoon.  I need to figure out a good strategy for this.  Maybe take some trail mix or something that I could eat on the fly during recess.  Any and all suggestions will be happily accepted.

6 thoughts on “Back to Work

Leave a Reply

