Some Assembly Required

 

Okay, so part of setting yourself up in a new apartment is getting enough furniture to fill said apartment.  I purchased most of mine from Ikea.  I love Ikea, and T is not a fan.  But, that is not why I bought a bunch of Ikea furniture.  I bought it because it seems smaller in scale than a lot of stuff and it fits well in an apartment.  So there.

So far I have assembled a red couch, two bookcases, and one and a half chests of drawers.

I cannot finish the second chest of drawers because I am missing a crucial piece of hardware.  I have asked Ikea to please pretty please send me a spare, and they have said they will.  They also said it would take 10 business days for me to receive it.  Seriously?  Two whole weeks?  Why?  Do that have to send it from Sweden?  I probably shouldn’t complain.  I am just irritated because I am so close to being finished.  And yet, so very far away.

And I want to be done because things take forever to put together and I am really getting tired of it.  The couch took 3 and a half hours.  And it was heavy.  I was half convinced there would be headlines in the local paper saying “Woman Found Crushed Under Half Assembled Sofa”  I have been listening to my audio book of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo as I work.  It seemed appropriate.

The chests of drawers posed their own challenges.  The boxes were so heavy I couldn’t carry them up the stairs to their appointed bedrooms for assembly.  So I had to open the boxes and take the pieces up a little at a time.  And before you ask, yes I have looked everywhere for the missing piece of hardware, but it isn’t here.  They forgot it.

I have to admit, it feels good to get all this stuff put together all by me onesies.  I kick ass.  And now my books are unpacked too.  Bonus.

1 thought on “Some Assembly Required

  1. Pingback: Some (more) Assembly Required | My Little Bit of Everything Blog

Leave a comment