Fizzy Gravy

Oops

We were going to have Swedish Meatballs for dinner.  Oh, how I do love Swedish Meatballs.  I have a really good recipe too, and you don’t even need a packet or a can of cream of mushroom soup.

So Tom and I made the meatballs.  Actually, if I am being honest, Tom made the meatballs because I really don’t like touching raw meat.  It’s just a thing with me.

Anyway, so Tom made the meatballs and I put them in the oven to cook.  Then I started to prepare the delicious gravy that makes Swedish Meatballs what they are.

I got out a pan, and started heating up the beef broth.  Then I slowly added the sour cream.  You are also supposed to mix up some cornstarch and water to make the gravy nice and thick so it clings nicely to everything.

So I carefully measured what I thought were two tablespoons of cornstarch and mixed it with three tablespoons of water.  Except, unfortunately that was not cornstarch.  It was baking soda.  I discovered my error when I poured the mixture into the pan.  I was not expecting the gravy to get fizzy.  But it did.  And it tasted kind of weird.

It has been a really long time since I ruined dinner.

We did manage to save the meatballs and just mixed them with the noodles and some olive oil and parmesan cheese.  It was good, but not the same.

Sigh.

 

2 thoughts on “Fizzy Gravy

Leave a Reply

