Victory!

I went swimming today and I arrived at the pool just as the aqua fitness class was ending.  This is not so unusual.  What was unusual was the gossip I heard from the ladies who sit on the pool stairs as I was getting into the pool.

Now, as regular subscribers know, I have issues with the pool walkers and aqua fitness people.  I have no problem with them walking in the pool or taking classes.  But I take exception to the group of aquacisers that stand in the lane chatting when swimmers need lanes for, well, swimming.  I have in the past swam back and forth through this group for upwards of 20 minutes, and let me tell you it is a real pain in the ass (sorry mom).

The last time I was so aggravated that I actually wrote a (polite) email to the powers that be at the gym asking if they could please remind people to get out of the pool if they are just standing around.  And I suspect I was not the only one to make that friendly and helpful suggestion.

How do I know this?  Because today when the class was getting out the teacher said “remember you can only be in the pool if you are doing laps.  If you are just standing, you have to either sit on the steps or get out”.  Wow.  Just wow.

The step sitters were complaining of course, but too bad.  I heard one of them going on about how “the swimmers” had been complaining about people taking up the lanes for no damn good reason.  (Okay, she didn’t say that last part).

I am shocked, shocked I tell you that the gym actually took steps to take care of this problem.  Of course it remains to be seen if they actually enforce this new rule, but if nothing else it will give me a feeling of righteousness as I swim through their little circle.

They better not give me the hairy eyeball anymore.

 

Leave a Reply

