Da Cubs

We spent yesterday at Wrigley Field.  I love Wrigley Field.  It is my happy place.  I have loved the Cubs for so long I can’t remember a time when I didn’t.  I know, it’s pathetic but there ya go.

So yesterday we took the whole family out to the ballgame.  I bought the tickets back in February when they first went on sale thinking a game in September had the potential to be Really Interesting, provided the Cubs were still in the hunt.  How silly of me.  Instead, they are eight games back of first place in the Central Division.  Oh well, you can’t have everything.

Sarah and her boys had tickets to yesterday’s game too so we all went up on the El together.  This is always very interesting with five kids.  It’s kind of like herding cats.  But we made it, and we even had all five kids with us when we got there.

It was Carlos Zambrano bobble head doll day at the old ballpark.  For some reason he is playing soccer.  Soccer?  Is this a subtle hint to Carlos from the organization?  I have never been a fan of Z’s, perhaps I shall run over mine with the car.

The kids had a fabulous time.  They ate nachos and pizza and cotton candy and popcorn and drank Pepsi.  I had a hot dog and a large Diet (naturally) and an Old Style.  Tom had a brat and a couple of beers.  I did not keep score.  This is unusual for me.  But, I kind of liked it.  I could just quietly watch the game without trying to figure out every single play as it happened.  I still love keeping score but it was kind of fun to have a break.

The game got off to a bad start when we gave up three runs in the first inning.  Oops.  But in the end the good guys prevailed and we won 7-6.  And I got to hear them play Go Cubs Go.  Awesome.

I took a ton of pictures but of course I forgot my camera cord because I am an IDIOT.  So once again you will have to wait for photographic evidence.  Maybe I will post those after I finally post some pictures from Alan and Diana’s wedding.  Oy.

Leave a Reply

