Flood update

Today I had a 44-ounce fountain Diet Coke from the gas station in Nevada.  And it had the Good Ice.  Is it wrong to drive 10 miles for a fountain Diet with Good Ice?  I suspect it increases my carbon footprint ever so slightly.  And at the moment I feel like my carbon footprint is the size of Montana.

We have been under a boil order since Wednesday afternoon.  It really has not been so bad.  We had plenty of bottled water thanks to Tom, who drove back from Chicago with something like 60 gallons of the stuff.  But it did mean a lot of sandwich meals, and a lot of disposable products.

We had to use paper plates and disposable flatware and cups because we couldn’t wash dishes, and of course there were all those empty water bottles.

Now, I do not consider myself a militant environmentalist.  But I do what I can.  I shop at Wal-Mart even though I don’t really like it because I can get all my groceries and most everything else I need in one trip.  I use reusable grocery bags, and everybody in the family has reusable water bottles.  But, I am wracked with guilt at the thought of all this crap I am dumping in the landfill right now.

Happily the boil order has been lifted.  And now things can start getting back to normal.  And I will be able to get a Diet Coke anywhere I please.

Although, to be fair, we were at the pool by the gas station where I got that 44-ounce Diet Coke anyway.

Leave a Reply

