Odds and Ends

We have been watching a lot of baseball with French commentary lately.  It is hugely entertaining.  I cannot understand much of what they are saying, but on the other hand, I don’t have to listen to Joe Morgan.

***

Speaking of baseball, Lou Piniella has announced he will retire at the end of this season.  Do you know what this means?  I’ll tell you what it means.  It means chances are excellent that Hall of Famer  Ryne Sandberg, one of my favorite Cubs players ever, and current manager of the Iowa Cubs will be managing in Chicago next year.  And then he will lead the team all the way to the World Series.  Things are gonna change, I can feel it.

***

We have been spending a lot of time at the apartment complex pool during our stay in Montreal.  It’s very different than the local pool at home. For one thing, it’s over the children’s heads everywhere.  So I cannot sit and read magazines, I have been sitting on the edge of the pool playing life guard.  The pool does have one life guard.  But when we were there last week I saw him standing at his little station smoking a cigarette.  It does not exactly inspire confidence.

Leave a Reply

