Gardening

I have a garden this year.  I didn’t have any great desire for a garden, but I have one anyway. Some people are born to garden, and some have gardening thrust upon them.  I definitely belong to the second camp.

I don’t garden.  I don’t particularly like it.  I like other people’s gardens, but having one of my own is just too much work.  I’m allergic to everything, and I don’t like bugs, or worms, or dirt for that matter.  My two favorite gardening tools are mulch and Roundup.

However, when we built the new garage and had a new driveway installed, we also had some flagstones put around the side door.  The landscapers left a big blank patch in the middle.  They said we needed to “soften up” the sea of pavers, and that this would be great.  Unfortunately they did not tell me what to put in the garden.  There is also a pie shaped patch on the other side of the door, but I am not sure if that was intentional or if it’s just a spot where the sod didn’t take.  Anyway, I am letting Princess O take care of that spot so whatever happens there is not my problem.

So I have this big blank spot.  Here is a picture taken with my dying camera:

I haven’t measured it, but I don’t think it’s very big, but from my perspective it’s about the size of the Gobi Desert.

Anyway,  I bought some plants.  I bought basil, thyme, cilantro, rosemary, tomatoes and red peppers.  We shall see what happens.  I also bought some mint to put in the pot the C-man gave me for Mother’s Day, and a big red geranium.  I like geraniums.  They seem to thrive on benign neglect and I am excellent at that.

If anything actually survives the summer I will let you know.

Tomorrow I need to get mulch.  And Roundup.

Leave a Reply

