Well it’s One for the Money…

They are making a movie of One for the Money by Janet Evanovich. It’s true!  Here is a link.

The Movie Insider

As you can see, there isn’t a ton of information yet.  It’s early days.

There are fifteen of these books in print right now, and Sizzling Sixteen is set to hit bookstores this summer.  Oooh I can’t wait.  I can’t wait for the book.   The movie is not really doing anything for me.

To be fair, I am never happy when somebody makes a movie based on one of my favorite books.  I refused to see The Time Traveler’s Wife because I love that book so much, and I knew the movie could never measure up.  So, I am not approaching this movie with a fair and unbiased point of view.  In addition to that, I am unhappy with their casting decisions.  They cast Katherine Heigl as Stephanie, Jason O’Mara as Morelli and Daniel Sunjata as Ranger.

Jason O’Mara seems okay to me.  Daniel Sunjata might be okay as Ranger too, but I hate hate hate the idea of Katherine Heigl as Stephanie.  She is so not like Stephanie.  This is not going to work.  Here are some photos:

Katherine Heigl is so not Stephanie

O’Mara (Morelli) and Sunjata (Ranger)

Now I realize there is no way to please everybody, and casting was always going to be a challenge.  The problem they face is the fact that there are already 15 books out there in the Stephanie Plum series, not including the “Between the Numbers” books.  I have read all 15 of them, some of them more than once.  I already have a very clear picture in my head of what all the characters look like.  And these guys are not measuring up.

Maybe I’m just grumpy today, I don’t know.  But I don’t think I will be going to see this movie.

5 thoughts on “Well it’s One for the Money…

  1. I don’t know O’Mara. Heigel…ehh. But I personally think Sunjata is the perfect choice to play Ranger. He’s a gorgeous, macho stud on Rescue Me. And he looks like he could be Cuban/American. Just sexy enough to make ya cuss! lol Yeah he’s one for the money all right.

  2. Steph is NOT a blond! Ugh! Ok, they can dye her hair, but still!!! I always thought Sandra Bullock would make a GREAT Stephanie Plum. Sure, she’s a little out of the age range, but she can do cute and ditzy and fall down alot and make it all work. The guys are ok, I guess….but really Morelli should be cuter.

    Yes, I’ve read every book too, including the “betweeens”. I probably won’t see the movie. I didn’t see the Time Traveler’s Wife either.

  3. Did you realize your writing style actually resenbles Janet’s. Not the content maybe, but the way you make everyday events seem funnier. Anyway the Plum series is difficuly to imagine on the silver screen. I just can’t picture any current actors in the various roles. This an important considerationas I think the chances of several sequels would be high IF they get the casting right. Who’s gonna play Lula I say!

  4. Oh no dear. Ur wrong about Sunjata. There is no better ranger choice. He’s the perfect fit. Testosterone and sexyness for dayzzz. I think the problem is that we all call our own images to mind when we read. Books are personal experiences. Quite subjective. But i can’t think of any actor in the business who has the chops, the looks, and the charisma to play ranger to a T, like Daniel Sunjata.

Leave a Reply

