Notes from the plague house

I feel like I should draw a big X on our door with chalk.  Isn’t that what they used to do during the plague?

So Princess O has the stomach flu.  She was up most of last night and I was up most of last night with her.  Both of us are a little shell-shocked this morning.

She seems (mostly) fine now.  So now I am just waiting for the other shoe to drop.  Who will get sick next?  Will it be me?  Or will it be The Boy?  Watch this space.

I have spent the day trying to avoid either scenario.  I have mopped, and scrubbed and gone medieval with the Lysol.  I have done several loads of laundry in HOT water, and I have washed my hands so many times I feel like Lady Macbeth.

We were supposed to go to Chicago this weekend, but that’s out. The last thing I want is for somebody to get sick somewhere in western Illinois.  That would be a disaster.  Tom, happily, managed to find a deal on a last minute flight so he is coming home.  Here comes the cavalry!

My friend M brought over some homemade chicken soup and mac-n-cheese for us.  I was so happy.  I could have wept with gratitude.  The soup was delicious too.  We are saving the mac for tomorrow night.  M if you are reading this, thank you thank you thank you.

I suspect I will be keeping O home again tomorrow.  She still looks a little green around the gills.

Now once you’ve finished reading this go wash your hands.  I wouldn’t want you to get sick too.

One thought on “Notes from the plague house

Leave a Reply

