Ice dancing

I’m watching the ice dancing right now.  It’s very beautiful, but I am not sure it should be an Olympic sport.

Don’t get me wrong.  I’m sure it’s extremely difficult, and requires a tremendous about of work and dedication.  And I am sure all of these skaters are far far more physically fit than I am.  I know I couldn’t do it.  But then again, I can’t even skate backwards so there you go.

But I don’t know.  I just don’t know.  Maybe if people want to keep it as an Olympic sport they should make ballroom dancing a sport in the summer games.  Think about it.  That way Apolo Ohno could compete in the summer games too.  How many athletes have competed in both the winter and summer games?  Not many I bet.  Apolo is a good dancer.  He’s a Dancing with the Stars champion for crying out loud.

If ice dancing must stay as an Olympic sport, I think they must find another name for that element they refer to as “twizzles”.  All I can think of is candy.

One thought on “Ice dancing

  1. Diana read some article that said Ice-Dancing and Ice-Skating are effectively ruined by watching them on TV because you have no sense of how fast they’re actually going.

Leave a Reply

