A quandary

Today I decided it was time to sort out my photos from Rome.  I know, I know, we went to Rome two years ago.  Sue me.  What took me so long?  I’ll tell you.  I am an expert procrastinator.  And of course I was worried that looking at them would make me unbearably Rome-sick so I have been avoiding them.

However, today I was feeling ambitious.  So I pulled them out.  Not all of them.  All of them are on the computer.  I just have a couple hundred of my very favorites printed out.  Still, it’s a lot.  Probably more than any sane person wants to look at.  But they are my photos and I promise not to make you look at them.

So here is my dilemma.  I can’t decide how to organize said photos.

On the one hand, I could do them in chronological order starting with our first day and ending with our last.  But that seems kind of boring.  Plus we did a number of things more than once, so there are a lot of pictures of things like the Colosseum and the Trevi Fountain.

On the other hand, I could also arrange them by theme.  For example put all of the Colosseum photos together, all the photos of our apartment and so on.  But I’m not entirely happy with that idea either.

On the other other hand, I could get really complicated and organize them according to which ones I like the best, or I could use some combination of all of the above.  It’s a mystery.

One thing I do know, I have to finish this soon, before the piles of photos become an installation piece on the card table in the living room.

Leave a Reply

