An open letter to all the Newbies at the gym

So you’ve decided to start working out.  Great.  Congratulations.  I’m assuming this is a New Year’s resolution.  Well, good luck with that.

I do have a few friendly comments for you:

You are hogging all the machines.  Did you see the sign that said limit time on the cardio equipment to 30 minutes?  It’s over there, by the bottles of cleaning solution.  Oh, my mistake, you hadn’t seen those either.  Yeah, you are supposed to wipe down your equipment after you finish using it.  That way it isn’t sweaty and disgusting for the rest of us.

And another thing, don’t put your wet dirty street shoes in the lockers.  It makes the locker floor all messy and then there is nowhere to put my gym bag.  Just leave your shoes under the bench.  I swear nobody is going to steal them.  Nobody wants your wet dirty snow boots.  Trust me.

I know we were all newbies once, and I don’t want to discourage you.  But for crying out loud use a little common courtesy.  Maybe you could make that one of your New Year’s Resolutions too.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

