Art! And Culture!

Hello again from beautiful Michigan.  I would show you how beautiful it is but, of course, I forgot to bring the cord for my camera.  Oops.  I don’t know why this surprises me, I do it every time I come here.  Maybe I should just buy another one and keep it in Michigan.  That would solve a lot of problems.

Today my mom did not have to work (yay) so we all went out to lunch, and then we went to one of those paint-your-own-pottery studios.  We had lunch at a sports bar.  The world’s biggest sports bar as far as I could tell.  It was huge.  It had two different upstairs levels, a ground level and a sunken, downstairs level.  Wow.  It also had the NFL network.  I didn’t know anybody actually got the NFL network on televison.  Shocking.

At the pottery place the C-Man immediately gravitated to a giant castle thing with a dragon perched on top of it that cost waaay more than I wanted to spend by about a factor of four.  So I encouraged him to find something smaller, and then to find something even smaller, and then maybe something just a little smaller still.  He finally decided on a little house.  Princess O chose a statue of a baby duck (or maybe it’s a chick, it was hard to tell), I chose a small gingerbread man ornament with gumdrop buttons, Tom and mom chose plates. My dad opted not to paint and ran errands instead.  He cleverly came in a second car so he could make a speedy escape.

When we arrived I said to the C-man very firmly you only get to do one thing, so if you finish quickly you have to just wait for everybody else to finish”.  In the past when we have painted our own pottery he has slapped a couple different paint colors on some random object and announced “I’m done!  Can I get something else now?”  I thought it would be better to head that off at the pass.  Well, the C-man had the last laugh because we were all finished before he was.  I guess I should just shut my mouth.  I would show you pictures of the happy family at work, but a camera cord has not magically appeared while I was writing this.

They will be ready sometime next week.  I honestly can’t wait to see how they turned out.

Leave a Reply

