The Best Christmas Movie Ever

Holiday Inn:  Opens tonight.  Don’t as why just go and God Bless America.

I’m watching Holiday Inn right now.  It’s my favorite Christmas movie of all time.  It stars Bing Crosby and Fred Astaire, with Virginia Dale and Marjorie Reynolds as the female leads.  I love it.

My brother and sister both love it too.  My parents are to blame for that.  One year when we were in high school they showed Holiday Inn on the local public television channel, and my parents decided we would all watch this movie together as a family for crying out loud so sit down and shut up.

Well, we all thought it was fantastic. The following year they gave one of us (I think it was my sister) a videotape of the movie for Christmas.  We were so pleased we decided we would watch it on every holiday featured in the movie.  So that year we watched it on:

  • New Years Day
  • Lincoln’s Birthday
  • Washington’s Birthday
  • Valentine’s Day
  • Easter
  • The Fourth of July
  • Thanksgiving
  • Christmas

It drove our parents insane.  I’m sure they rue the day the ever made us sit down and watch it.  I have been trying in vain to get the children to watch it.  So far they are resisting, but I’ll wear them down eventually.

Quotes from the movie

3 thoughts on “The Best Christmas Movie Ever

Leave a Reply

