How not to become mother of the year

I have learned something this month.  I have learned that NaNoWriMo and housework are mutually exclusive.  Well, that may not be entirely true.  Some days I think to myself, “I have to do this, this, this, this, this and this before I can work on my novel”  (Or “do the NaNo as Tom and I refer to it) Other days it’s more like, “I can’t possibly do the laundry, I need to Realize My Vision” or some other such nonsense.

And by the way, I hate doing laundry, so I am getting behind.  It has to be the most Sisyphean and thankless of all household chores.  Nobody ever notices when the clothes are clean, unless they are pointing out to you that you have put their long sleeved shirts in their short sleeve drawer.  Again.  But boy will you hear about it if the laundry is dirty.  Usually 30 minutes before they have to go to school and realize they have no clean underwear.

But I digress.  The point of all this is I am preoccupied and easily distracted, even more than normal, and so things fall through the cracks.

Here’s an example.

Today the C-man decided he wanted Jell-O in his lunch.  This was a “plan B” lunch option because we were out of apples.  And if I wasn’t so preoccupied with the NaNo I would have known we were out of apples.  Anyway, I knew we had some in the fridge so I said that was fine.  It had been in there a while but I figured it would be okay.  I packed his lunch, put some Jell-O in one of those super-tiny Glad-Ware containers threw in a plastic spoon and took him to school.

Then I came home and dumped the rest of the Jell-O out thinking I would make him a fresh batch.  And what did I discover while dumping out the Jell-O?  Mold.  Yes, mold.  I had just sent my baby to school with moldy Jell-O.  What to do?

Well, what could I do?  I grabbed my car keys, drove to the store, bought some of those little cups of pre-made Jell-O (at great expense for Jell-O) drove to school and pulled the old switcheroo.  So the story has a happy ending, but what a train wreck.  I am planning to put all this on my application for mother of the year.

2 thoughts on “How not to become mother of the year

Leave a Reply

