Faux Thanksgiving

As I mentioned yesterday my in-laws are in town this weekend for Thanksgiving.  Yes, I know Thanksgiving is not for at least a couple more weeks, but the plans around here got kind of FUBAR’ed and we thought Tom was maybe going to be in China for Thanksgiving, and since nobody else wanted to go to China for Thanksgiving we decided to have it early.  It was fun, but kind of strange because I didn’t have a chance to read several hundred magazines about how to have the Best Thanksgiving Ever.  I just had to wing it.

 

RoastTurkey

This is not our turkey

 

 

Here are some random thoughts:

The turkey cooked faster than I thought it would.  I don’t know why this surprised me, it seems to happen every year.  This is always worrying, and it leads to subjecting the poor turkey to a lot of poking and probing with the meat thermometer to make sure it really is done.  I always worry that I am about to poison everybody.  It adds a nice note of uncertainty to the festivities.

I love my roasting pan.  I think it is everything the Food Network says a roasting pan should not be.  It is lightweight, it has that black speckly enamel on it, and I got it at Wal Mart ages ago for about ten dollars.  Every turkey or roast I have ever made in that thing has been perfect.  If Wal Mart still had them I would buy more, just in case anything ever happens to this one.

I did not make my dressing in the crock-pot this time.  I just put it in casserole dish and baked it after I took the turkey out of the oven.  I never stuff the turkey, not because I am worried about food poisoning, but because I have discovered that if you do not stuff the bird you get way more gravy, and I am all about gravy.  So no stuffing in the turkey.  It was fine cooked in the casserole dish, but I like it much better if you do it in the crock-pot.  I will have to remember that.

Pumpkin pie really is the best food.  A dessert that’s good for you because it’s made of yellow vegetables.  What’s not to like about that?  I love pumpkin pie, and pumpkin bread.  I am in search of a recipe for pumpkin soup.  These recipes are easy to find but the first ingredient always seems to be:  a pumpkin of a certain size.  No.  This is not what I want.  I want the first ingredient to be a can of pumpkin.  I do not have the time or the inclination to roast and puree my own.

Now if only I had some Magic Cookie Bars.

Leave a Reply

