Wicked

wicked0606

As you might remember, I went to see Wicked on Sunday.  I have wanted to see that show for a very long time.  The Wicked Witch has long been my favorite character in The Wizard of Oz.  Or, she has been since she stopped scaring me to death.

My book club read the book Wicked by Gregory MacGuire a while ago, and when we learned the touring company was coming to town we decided to go.  So on Sunday we all got dressed up and hit the highway.

I do not know how to write proper reviews, I leave that kind of thing to my brother.  So I will just say I loved it.  I loved it, I loved it, I loved it.  So there.  That’s specific.   I loved the costumes, I loved the music, I loved everything.  I have not been to many big shows like this, but I have been to some.  I have seen Les Miserables and The Phantom of the Opera.  I liked this better.

I bought a t-shirt because wow I really am that geeky, and I have also downloaded the soundtrack from Itunes.

I found this clip on youtube.  This is the last song of the first act.   There was another clip I liked better (it was longer) but it seemed to have been recorded during a performance of the play.  And of course that kind of behaviour is strictly forbidden so I don’t want to encourage it.  This performance is from the Tony Awards, broadcast live on National Television.  That seems more sporting somehow.

Enjoy:

Leave a Reply

