Alonso to Ferrari!

It’s official! (Oh, and it’s a Formula 1 day today mom.  Sorry).

“We are very proud to welcome to our team another winning driver, who has demonstrated his amazing talent by winning two world championships in his career to date,” said Ferrari team boss Stefano Domenicali.

Autosport.com

I have been waiting for this announcement for ages.  I first suspected he would land at Ferrari back in 2007 when he left McLaren.  And now, finally I was right.  Oh boy oh boy.  This is gonna be great.

I know a lot of people have their reservations about how well Felipe Massa and Fernando will get along as teammates, but I think they will be fine.  I think they both know the other will not give an inch, and so neither one of them will expect it.  Add to that the fact that in the last couple years Ferrari has refrained from naming a #1 driver and waiting to see how the season plays out.  Then the driver with the best shot at the driver’s title gets top dog status.

Anyway, I think this will be good.  He will have a good car, on a top team, and hopefully he can kick the rest of the grid’s butt.  Hah.

No word yet on what will happen to Kimi Raikkonen, the driver Alonso is replacing.  The rumors are he will end up back at McLaren, but there is nothing official yet.  Princess O is most displeased.

Kimi is her favorite driver.  She says he has a “nice face”.  He does, it’s true.  I told her last night that it looked like Kimi would be moving on.  I asked her if she would stick with Ferrari or move to McLaren with Kimi.  She said she was sticking with Kimi, and if Kimi retires she will find a new favorite driver.  I suggested Alonso, but she said she doesn’t like him.

“Why?” I asked.

“I don’t like his hair” she replied.

Well, I suppose that is as good a reason as any for choosing a favorite driver, especially at age 11.  I recommended Nico Rosberg, but she just gave me the hairy eyeball.

I wonder if she will let me borrow her Ferrari T-shirt…

Leave a Reply

