The Ultimate Diet Coke

I was out today running a lot of errands.  This is usually the case.  I stopped at the gas station on my way home to get a fountain Diet Coke, that sweet elixir from heaven.  You really cannot have too much of it.

There are only so many gas stations in town, and I try to mix things up so they don’t start recognizing me at any one place.  I know, it’s pathetic, but that’s just how I am.  As a result, I go to some more often than others.

Today I was at the Kum ‘n Go.  Yes, that really is the name of a chain of gas stations around here.  This is one of the places I do not go to very often.  While I was there I noticed that they have larger drink sizes than the other gas stations in town. In addition to the standard 20-ounce, 32-ounce and 44-ounce sizes, they also offer a 64-ounce option.  Tempting, very tempting.  However, I know that it would be impossible to drink that much Diet Coke without the ice melting and the Coke getting flat, and it just isn’t worth it.

And then, I glanced up.  Sitting there, on top of the fountain machine I saw what has to be the Biggest Cup Ever.  It was a 100 ounce super-insulated cup, with a handle on the side.  Wow.  Just wow.  That is three-quarters of a gallon of the beverage of your choice.  And, it’s super-insulated so you know that beverage would stay hot or cold for a good long time.  Once again the only word for that is wow.

I bet you can’t refill that for 49 cents at the Almost Always Open.  And no, I did not buy one.

Leave a Reply

