Renault, race fixing and game, set and match

Well, so I guess that’s that then.

“The Renault F1 team announced on Wednesday that team boss Flavio Briatore and its executive director of engineering, Pat Symonds, have left the team. The team furthermore announced in a statement that it will not dispute the recent allegations made by the FIA concerning the 2008 Singapore Grand Prix.”

GP Update

I realize pleading no contest is not the same as pleading guilty, but it looks the same.  I really did not want to believe this was true.  I do not want to believe the team told Nelson Joonyer to crash on purpose to give Alonso a chance to win the race.  I am just sick about this.

Now, I have been a race fan for a while now, and I am not so naïve to think everybody is following all the rules all the time.  It happens in every sport.

But this goes beyond cheating.  This is much more than an illegal fuel tank, or an especially creative interpretation of the rules.  This is much much bigger.  To think that anybody would knowingly and willingly put their own team’s driver at risk and every other driver on the track, well, it’s disgusting.

Right now I am just clinging to the evidence that says Alonso himself knew nothing about this scheme.  But it is small comfort.

That race in Singapore last year was one of my favorites.  I still have it on tape.  It was one of the races I would pull out and watch from time to time, just for fun.  But now it’s ruined for me.  I will never be able to watch it again.

Why would anybody  do that?  It’s not like they were in contention for the championship.  It was a nice win, but it didn’t really mean anything in the grand scheme of things.  What were they thinking?

Leave a Reply

