The Walking Taco explained

It has come to my attention that I should probably explain just what in the name of heaven a Walking Taco is.  I know I have mentioned them longingly two weekends in a row now and I have never seen them anywhere but Iowa.  So I have declared them An Iowa Thing.  If you, dear reader are not from Iowa and you have Walking Tacos too, let me know.  And now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for:

706869186_2a7eaa78cf

I found this photo here.  I had meant to take a picture of my OWN Walking Taco last weekend, but as I mentioned they did not have them at Principal Park.  I am ashamed of them.

A Walking Taco starts with an idividual size bag of nacho cheese flavored Doritos.  Take that bag and crush the chips up a little bit, but not too much.  Turn the bag sideways and cut it open.  Add a scoop of taco meat, cheese, tomatoes, lettuce, taco sauce and sour cream if you have some handy.  Oh they are so good!  But they are so bad for you.  I did a quick search and I found this horrifying information:

A Walking Taco has:

  • 553 calories
  • 33.1 grams of fat
  • 31.47 grams of total carbs

But, it also has 32.07 grams of protein so that’s good, right?

Source

The good news is, once you eat it, you won’t be hungry for the rest of the day.  Yum.

And while we are talking about food, my brother posted this on his blog.  Aren’t they awesome?  I must have some Budda shaped pears at once.

peras_budas

The original source.

Leave a Reply

