Cell phone contract

I know that having a cell phone to use is a privilege. I respect that my parents love me and want to keep me safe. My parents respect that I am becoming a young adult and want the privilege of having the use of a cell phone. With that in mind, we agree:

  • All Contacts in the Phone Book must be approved by Mom or Dad
  • Calls cost 20-cents per minute.  I understand that I have to pay for both incoming calls and outgoing calls.
  • Mom and dad will pay Virgin Wireless $20 per month to keep my phone active.  If I spend more than $20 in a month I will pay to top up my phone to keep my account active.
  • I know I must keep my account active at all times.
  • If I lose my phone, I will pay half the replacement cost of a new one.  If I lose the replacement, I will be responsible for replacing the phone myself.
  • When out with friends I will always have my cell phone with me and ‘on’ so mom and dad can reach me if needed.
  • I will follow all school rules about cell phone use.  If I violate those rules I will lose the use of my phone for one week.
  • No cell phone at any meal table or during family time (I may ask permission if school related)
  • When at home, I will only use the regular phone instead of my cell phone to make calls.
  • The cell phone must be turned off by 8:00 each night.
  • I am responsible for keeping the phone’s battery charged.
  • I will not use my cell phone to call anyone for malicious purposes. (bullying, crank calling, etc.) If I do use the phone in this way it will be taken away immediately and indefinitely.
  • I agree to let mom or dad read my text messages and see my account activity log at any time.
  • I agree that if I am unable to keep up with my responsibilities, the use of my cell phone can be taken away from me. This can happen even if I have contributed to the cost of the cell phone.
  • Mom and dad have the right to amend or alter the rules or punishments at any time.  Notice will be given, but any occurrence out of the context of this contract will be dealt with on a case by case basis.
3 thoughts on “Cell phone contract

  1. This is so funny yet very useful! I think I will draw up a similar contract tonight and get my little darling to sign it. Just last week I got my teen daughter a Tracfone Motorola W376 from Wal-Mart for under 30 bucks. The cost of the phone is small considering it is one of those camera phones and DMFL is included. Anywoo, I have been wondering about the phone for the last week and seeing this was great! The cost doesn’t really bother me ’cause it’s prepaid and it’s not like we can get one of those $10000-texting-all-night-and-day bills I read about all the time, but I still worry about safe and proper use. So seeing this has made my day and given me a few ideas of my own. Thanks!

  2. I’m happy it helped. 😉 I just wanted to make sure The Princess and I were on the same page regarding what the rules were. This way she can’t argue that we never told her something was against the rules.

  3. Pingback: Communication has been restored « My Little Bit of Everything Blog

Leave a Reply

