Middle School! (insert scary music here)

Princess O is off to Middle School this year.  Yes, it’s true.  The very thought makes me want to lie down, but it doesn’t change the fact that my baby is about to descend into the seventh circle of hell also knows as sixth seventh and eighth grades.

I thought I was done buying school supplies (oooh…Trapper Keepers) but I was wrong.  I got an email from the middle school saying, “oh, you need these things too”.  So today I went to fetch another binder and a scientific calculator to add to the Royal stores.  And the only conclusion I can come to after the last shopping spree is that somebody in the math department has been drinking.  Heavily.

The calculator they told me to get was 80 dollars.  Yep, you read that right.  I just bought my eleven year old, the kid who often cannot find her shoes a calculator that cost 80 bucks.  If she loses that thing…well it doesn’t even bear thinking about.  Who thinks it’s a good idea to turn these kids loose with this kind of hardware?  I wonder how many of them get lost in the first week.  All I can say is they better actually use them…

And while we are talking about middle school, we had orientation on Thursday.  I am not sure either one of us are ready for this.

I bought her a cell phone since she has to take the bus now, and I hear that the staff in the front office is not especially friendly or helpful if you need to call home.  Also, she had asked me once, long ago (I think she was six) when she could have her own cell phone, and I just said, “When you’re in middle school”.  At the time middle school seemed so far in the future it might as well have been on the moon.  But now here we are and she is the proud owner of a Virgin Mobile flip phone.  She has a pay as you go plan, and we made up a special contract for her.  It covers our rules and expectations about cell phone use.  I will post it soon just in case anybody is interested.

She also has a PIN number for the cafeteria.  I should probably write that down somewhere so when she calls me on her cell phone from the lunch line to tell me she forgot it, I will be able to give it to her.

One thought on “Middle School! (insert scary music here)

Leave a Reply

