Harry Potter and other stuff

This vacation thing is great.  I have been to two movies this week.  It has been a long time since I have done that.

First I went to see Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince on Friday night.  I felt rather unprepared for this film because I had not had the opportunity to get my full Harry Potter geek on by either

  • Re-reading the book

or

  • Watching all of the previous five movies

I could have gone to all five movies if I had been so inclined.  One of the theatres in the area did a marathon of the first five movies on Wednesday, the 14th.  It was $25 for the whole day, and then they had a midnight showing of HBP to cap things off.  But I didn’t think I could eat that much popcorn so I opted out.

Half Blood Prince was very good.  I know some people have complained that they left too much out, and I am pretty sure there was at least one scene in the movie that was never in the book, but I can’t be positive.  But, I thought it did a good job of telling the story that needed to be told, and capturing the mood of the book.  And it sets up the last two movies very nicely.

Now we just have to wait until November of 2010 for the next one.  Waiting destroys my soul.

Today I went to the dollar theater to see Angels and Demons.  I am not sure why I wanted to see this movie; I really do not like Tom Hanks at all.  But a lot of it was shot in Rome, and there is a lot of Italian spoken during the movie.  I like Rome, and I like listening to Italian.  I can even understand some of it.  And, of course it has the Ewan McGregor factor.  He’s lovely.  So I was really just interested in it for the scenery.

For me, it was worth the price of admission just for Mr. McGregor and all the pretty shots of Rome.  Normal people who are not either Romesick or fond of Ewan McGregor, might have different opinions.

And finally, I just found this trailer on youtube

This is one of the best books I have ever read.  When I finished reading it the first time I turned it over and started from the beginning again right away.  I’ve probably read it three or four times.  I’m not sure how I feel about a movie, but I’m sure I’ll see it eventually.

Leave a Reply

