We have arrived

Yesterday we drove from our humble abode in Iowa to my parent’s house in Michigan.  It is an eight hour trip more or less, depending on how often you stop and for how long.  For the most part it is a very long and boring trip, and you get to hear a lot of songs on your I-pod that you forgot about.

It is long and boring, that is, until the time comes to run the gauntlet of Interstates 80/294/94.  Then it is a hair-raising adventure worthy of any theme park.   Any of you who have ever driven on that particular patch of highway know what I am talking about.

You will find yourself barreling down the highway, with cars on either side of you, in lanes that are exactly one car width wide.  There is construction all over the place, so if by chance you are not sandwiched between semi trucks doing 80 miles an hour, it is because you are driving next to the safety barrier going 80 miles an hour (I mean, of course, you are going 80 mph, not the barrier).

All this does not leave much time for deep thought. But I did notice as I was hurtling through the god-forsaken stretch of highway that is Indiana that there are a lot of billboards saying “Discover Michigan”.  I really don’t think that was necessary.  I’m pretty sure the entire population of the Chicagoland Metropolitan Area was driving to Michigan with me yesterday.  I don’t think anybody else needs to discover Michigan thankyouverymuch.

Of course it’s all worth it in the end.  When you cross the state line everything gets all gree and Michigan-y.  We stopped for an early dinner at Redamaks.  They have the best hamburgers ever.  They deep fry them.  So delicious.  So bad for you.  It’s a good thing we only stop there a couple times a year.

And now, here we are.  The children have already been fishing about a million times.   We have also been swimming and have watched way too much television.  My sister and I have watched Twilight and consumed almost an entire bag of chocolate licorice.  Ahhh, I love it here.

Leave a Reply

