FOTA and Max kiss and make up

Well thank heavens that’s over with.

It looks like the FOTA teams and the FIA have decided to kiss and make up.  They had a big meeting today at the World Motor Sport Council in Paris and finally resolved everything.  There will be a reduction in costs, but the draconian 40-million pound cap and the two-tier racing system have gone away.  And so will Max Mosely.  As part of the agreement FIA president Mosely has agreed to stand down when his term is up in October.  I think I also read that he will not be involved in governing Formula 1 for the rest of this season as well, and that Michele Boeri will take over handling F1 matters.  Huzzah!

Sources:  Paddock Talk and FIA.com

 (I can’t find the original but you get the idea)

Ding Dong the Witch is Dead

I’m sorry.  That was probably unkind.

I cannot even begin to tell you how happy this makes me. 

Apparently F1 will be running with this year’s rules again next year.  I assume this means KERS is still optional next year.  I won’t even try to explain what KERS is.  It stands for Kinetic Energy Recovery System.  All I really know about it is that it’s heavy, it’s expensive to run, it’s dangerous, and the teams all hate it.  I think that is a sufficient explanation.

I’m also curious to see if the ban on refueling will stand for next year or not.  I guess that will depend on whether or not FOTA likes the idea. 

The bad news  is we still do not have a race in the USA or in Canada.  But maybe that can be FOTA’s next project; going after Bernie Ecclestone and the commercial rights holders. 

Baby steps my friend, baby steps.

Leave a Reply

