My latest project

Today I did something new, something I have never done before.  I dyed my own sock yarn.  It was very fun.  My sister, S gave me a sock blank and all the gear for Christmas, and I have just been waiting for an opportune moment because you have to do it in a “well ventilated area” so I needed nice weather. 

Well, I decided today was as opportune as I was going to get because tomorrow is the last day of school and after tomorrow The Children will be home (insert scary music here).

First I prepared my work area:

IMG_4000

You put down a bunch of layers of newspaper and then put saran wrap on top of that.  I very nearly did not have enough saran wrap, but I managed to make it work.

Then I mixed the dye powder with water.  When you mix the dye you have to be very careful. If you are the type to take the warning label on things seriously, you might think twice about doing this because this is the scary part.  The warning labels say things like “Open at your own risk”. And “if you die it’s not our fault” Okay, not really, but it might as well.

You have to wear rubber gloves when you do this, and a dust mask so you don’t inhale the powdered dye and accidentally dye your lungs green.

Things I have learned about wearing a dust mask:

  • It makes you VERY AWARE of your own breathing
  • It is impossible to wear a dust mask and glasses at the same time as the aforementioned breathing fogs them up

Here is the dye ready to rock and roll

IMG_4005

While you are doing all that you have your sock blank soaking in a tub of clean water

IMG_3997

At this point you should also prepare the pot you will use to steam your creation and set the dye.  You put a couple inches of water in the pot and then make a sling of aluminum foil with holes poked in it for your finished product.  This would all be well and good if we had any aluminum foil.  D*** it.  I’ve come this far.  Get in the car, go to the store, and get Reynolds Wrap.

Then you take it out of the water, squeeze it out, roll it in a towel and walk on it to squeeze more water out and then take it to your work area.

Now comes the fun part.  Painting the sock blank.

 

work in progress

work in progress

 

 

Next you wrap it up into a saran wrap burrito and steam the crap out of it.

IMG_4010

Here is the finished product.  It’s imperfect.  There are some stray splotches, and a spot where I must have folded it over on itself.   Oops.

 

finished product

finished product

 

 

The finished product is drying now.  Next up, winding it into balls and then knitting the socks.  Ah yes, therein lies the rub.

2 thoughts on “My latest project

  1. Pingback: Socks! « My Little Bit of Everything Blog

  2. Pingback: Fun with Kool-Aid « My Little Bit of Everything Blog

Leave a Reply

