On the road again

So here we are in Minneapolis, or as Princess O used to call it, Mindianapolis. 

We are staying at the Holiday Inn Metrodome in preparation for the Red Sox/Twins game tomorrow.  The whole place is full of Twins fans.  We are deep in enemy territory my friends.  Deep in enemy territory. 

The ride up was long and boring.   There is absolutely nothing between our house and Minneapolis except roadwork.  Nothing.  I think there is a Spam museum somewhere, but I don’t know where.  We hit the road just before noon, after I had cleaned up from the traditional Sunday fry-up.  We made it a whole ten miles before The Children demanded lunch.  I don’t have any idea how they could have been hungry but they ate all their McFood.  I just had a (diet) coke.

There was a small navigational error on the way here (curse you google maps!) but I corrected it easily.

Our first order of business was to investigate the pool way up on the fourteenth floor.  It had a lovely view of the highway.  The hot tub was nice too.  Second on the agenda was dinner.  We went to Noodles and Company for dinner.  Then The Children wanted dessert so we stopped at the convenience store by the hotel to get some ice cream.  The name of the convenience store?  Kwik-E-Mart.  I am not even kidding Simpsons fans.  I had thought I might get a beer to drink in the hotel room, but the Kwik-E-Mart is apparently the only convenience store ever that does not have a liquor license.  Who has ever heard of such a thing? 

Now we are hanging out in the hotel room eating Goldfish crackers and watching Cartoon Network.  Later I will attempt to sleep in the same bed as The Princess.  I would prefer to sleep with the C-man.  He is not quite as much of a bed hog.  He just likes to have some part of himself reassuringly touching some part of myself.  Like for example a foot in my face. 

With the Princess it’s all about territory.  She believes, even in her sleep, that she should have all of it.  I am allowed one tiny strip of mattress along the edge of the bed.  Wish me luck.

Tomorrow:  the ballgame.  Woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

