Search and rescue

Princess O has lost a library book.  We discovered that this weekend.  She would have me amend that to say “somebody” has lost her library book, because she insists it wasn’t her.

She looked (half-heartedly) said book on Sunday, but to no avail.  So today I executed a search and rescue mission in her room.  And that is what I did.  All day.

However, I did find a variety of magazines, a lot of stuffed animals, laundry of undetermined vintage and all of the following books:

  • Katie and the Mustang
  • Dinosaur Babies
  • Horses from Dorling Kindersley’s Eyewitness series
  • The Thief Lord
  • Spiders on the Ceiling
  • Robert Sabuda’s pop-up version of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (Sabuda is a genius by the way)
  • How to Steal a Dog
  • Olivia Owl’s Sticker Book
  • The Friskative Dog
  • A Haunting in Williamsburg
  • All of a Kind Family
  • Meet Felicity
  • The Muddle Headed Wombat

Clearly she needs an intervention.  There is so much stuff in her room it’s ridiculous.  I took all that stuff, put it in 4 garbage bags and hid them in the crawl space.  Then I had some candy to give me strength and proceeded on to the closet.  That was a very scary place.

The good news is, I didn’t find any living things in the closet, or any dead things that used to be alive, and I didn’t hear the unmistakable sounds of creatures scurrying away.  I filled up two more garbage bags and put them in the hidey-hole.  We shall see how long it takes her to notice.

Her room needs a complete overhaul.  To be fair, so does the C-man’s room.  I am not looking forward to this, and in fact, I have been putting it off.  Both of the children feel very strongly that none of their possessions should be thrown in the trash, or given away to charity.  Never ever ever.  Somehow I am raising two crazy packrats.  Something must be done.  Now if only I knew what.

The library book, meanwhile, is still missing.

Leave a Reply

