Why I am a complete idiot

On Friday, June 19 our family is going to see the Chicago Cubs in the beautiful Friendly Confines of Wrigley Field.  Now given my deep and abiding love of the Chicago Cubs and Wrigley Field you would think this date would be writ large on my consciousness with big red letters.

Apparently not.

Yesterday The Princess brought home a Campfire USA flyer advertising their many summer camp options.  One of them was a horseback riding day camp, the holy grail of summer camps in our family.  She has been asking to go to horse camp for a couple of summers now, but I have never been able to find one that was not a sleep away camp.  And I don’t want to send her to sleep away camp.  I am too much of a wimp. 

So when she showed me this wondrous brochure I checked the dates.  The month of July is out, we are very busy.  But they had several weeks in June available.  Further investigation also revealed a different day camp that the C-man wanted to attend.  A day camp that met in the same time and in the same place as the horsey camp.  Allow me to repeat that:

Both camps meet at the same time and in the same place.  For a whole week.  You know what that means?  Freedom!  Horrible, horrible freedom for the mom (that would be me).

I got online this afternoon and signed them up.  I signed them up for the week starting June 15.  Do you remember me mentioning that we need to be in Chicago on the 19th?  D’oh!  Obviously we cannot attend this camp!  But I already sent in the forms!  And the deposit!

After calling my sister to confirm the Cubs date I called the Campfire USA offices and explained my dilemma.  The nice woman who answered the phone took down all my information and told me that the woman who handles registrations was out of the office and would have to call me back. She also told me she didn’t think there would be any problem switching them to either the week before or the week after our Chicago adventure.  Now I wait with baited breath to hear from her.

I swear I have a mind like a sieve.

Leave a Reply

