The concert

The princess had her first (and possibly her last) violin concert last night with the elementary school orchestra.

I wish I could say she had been working really hard to get ready, but I don’t think she has actually practiced the violin within my hearing range since sometime around Christmas.  I suspect the novelty has worn off. 

I am every music teacher’s nightmare.  I never make her practice.  I figure it’s self-correcting.  If she isn’t prepared she is the one who has to deal with her teacher, not me.  The fact that I haven’t heard a word of complaint from her teacher leads me to believe she is skating along.  She would probably be quite good if she ever did practice.

The concert was in the school gymnasium.  They had folding chairs set up for the orchestra, and more folding chairs set up for the parents.  The Princess and I got there a bit early, so she milled around talking to her friends while I staked out seats for Tom and the C-man, who were meeting us there after baseball practice and a lunchable for dinner.

Olivia did fine.  She looked like a deer in headlights the whole time, but she did great.  Her friend K was performing tonight too.  K is home schooled, and takes violin lessons at a different elementary school.  Apparently they needed an extra violin player so she was invited to join in for the concert.  The Princess was thrilled, even if they didn’t get to sit next to each other.

They played five pieces, including a pretty recognizable Pachelbel’s Canon in D.  A couple of cello players did a concerto and one of the other 5th grade violinists did a very long solo piece.  I was impressed.

The princess managed to get through it all, but she was visibly relieved when the orchestra wrapped up and the band took the stage.    The band played about five more songs, and ended the evening with a rousing rendition of the theme from Star Wars.  Then the band director asked all of us to please fold up our folding chairs and stack them neatly against the wall.

After the concert I had the fabulous idea to go get some ice cream at Dairy Queen.  Well, it was a fabulous idea if I do say so myself.  So fabulous in fact, that the whole place was full of young musicians and their families.  We couldn’t even get a parking place.  We had to park next door, in the dentist office’s parking lot.

It was a very fine evening.  I don’t think she plans to stick with the violin in middle school, so it was probably my one and only chance to see her perform.  She has made noises about giving it up.  I told her that was fine with me, but if she did carry on next year, either with the violin in orchestra or the trombone in band (God help me) I was going to make her practice.  I think she will be less nervous that way.

Leave a Reply

