To read or not to read (Twilight that is)

I am reading Twilight again.  I know I know, I really need to get a life.  And I will, I promise, once I finish reading this for the second time.

This time I am vetting it for The Princess because she wants to read it.  She is 10, almost 11 going on 16 if you know what I mean.  When I read it initially I thought it was too sexy for a ten-year-old and when she asked if she could read it I told her that it was inappropriate for her and that no she could not read it.  And she seemed okay with that.

But now some of her friends are reading it, and I am second guessing myself.  Of course suddenly EVERYBODY in the whole world, yes every living soul on this planet has read Twilight except the Princess and it is all my fault.  So I told her I would read it again and see what I thought.

It’s not as sexy as I remember, but I’m only halfway through it.  There is a lot of unspecified and unresolved longing.  Maybe she wouldn’t read as much into that as I am.  But that escalates quite a bit as the series progresses.  Plus there is also a lot of lying to her dad and sneaking around and she probably doesn’t need any tips about that.

So I remain torn.  I know there is no book quite so appealing as the one you are not allowed to read.  And I don’t want to make more of this than necessary.  But I still don’t think I want her reading this book, at least not until she gets a little older.

What to do, what to do?  This mom thing is hard.  They should offer more on the job training.  Maybe some seminars in Las Vegas or perhaps Hawaii.

Leave a Reply

