Odds and Ends – Opening Day Edition

***

Yet another reason to dislike Carlos Zambrano

 

“You come into a ballpark like this and you see great things,” the Cubs ace told The Associated Press on Saturday before his team’s 10-1 exhibition loss at the sparkling ballpark in the Bronx.

“You wish that Chicago’d build a new stadium for the Cubs,” he said.

 

Source

Blasphemer

***

I had big plans.  We were going to watch the game on ESPN2 and eat hot dogs in front of the TV.  Except the game is blacked out.  Why?  I don’t know.  You will have to ask Major League Baseball, or perhaps Mediacom cable.  I am enraged.  I sincerely hope they are not going to black out every game on cable this season.   

***

I know this is corny and so on but I do love it so.  (I hope I haven’t offended)

“I believe in the Church of Baseball. I’ve tried all the major religions and most of the minor ones. I’ve worshipped Buddha, Allah, Brahma, Vishnu, Siva, trees, mushrooms and Isadora Duncan. I know things. For instance, there are 108 beads in a Catholic rosary and there are 108 stitches in a baseball. When I heard that I gave Jesus a chance.

I’ve tried ’em all, I really have, and the only church that truly feeds the soul is the Church of Baseball.” 

From Destination Hollywood

I wish I could find a clip of this from Bull Durham, but alas and alack I cannot.  Youtube has let me down.

***

And finally

***

GO CUBS!

2 thoughts on “Odds and Ends – Opening Day Edition

  1. OMG Zambrano said that? Is he insane? I’m going to have to make a sacrifice to the baseball gods now, but I need a live rooster…

    I knew there were many reasons I didn’t like him, but that tops them all now.

  2. I am not fool enough to think the Cubs could have done what they did without him the last couple seasons, but I have NEVER liked him.

Leave a Reply

