What is the big deal about Twilight?

Seriously, what is it about this series?  I watched the movie last night and it was TERRIBLE.  Truly awful.  And yet I watched every minute of it, and I was completely engrossed the entire time.  I wasn’t even knitting.

I have the same issue with the books.  I’ve read all four of them.  Yep, that’s right.  All.  Four.  Of.  Them.  Good gravy, what is wrong with me?  The whole time I was reading them I was thinking to myself, “this is absurd, this is ridiculous, why on earth am I still reading this?”  And yet I was unable to put them down.  I don’t get it.  They are not well written, and the story line is so far out there even for a vampire novel it’s insane.  But there is something strangely compelling about them.  Maybe I would understand it better if I were a 14 year old girl instead of a not-14 year old mom who took kind of a lot of literature classes in college.

So if somebody could explain this to me I would be eternally grateful.

And in case that wasn’t bad enough, today I went to see Fast and Furious

This is another series of movies that deep in my heart, I know are terrible, but I cannot tear myself away from them.

In case you are curious about the latest movie, I LOVED IT.  It was big and loud and mindless.  Everything you want in an action/adventure movie.  All with just enough plot to hold the race scenes together.  If you liked the first three movies, you’ll like this one too, if you didn’t, you won’t.  How’s that for a concise review?  I want to see it again.  I had to sit closer than I normally like, and it made me kind of motion sick.  Next time I’ll sit in the back.

And then, on my way home from the movie (which I watched with every high school boy in town) I stopped at the library to pick up a book they had on hold for me.  The book?  Twilight.  God help me.

Leave a Reply

