American Idol and other guilty pleasures

I find American Idol strangely compelling.  I don’t have any idea why.  I guess I could say I end up hearing the winner all over the radio so I might as well watch the process.  But I don’t think that begins to cover it.  Although I do like Daughtry and Carrie Underwood and even Kelly Clarkson. 

I don’t have any idea what the appeal is.  Maybe it satisfies some kind of voyeuristic side of my personality.  I do like reality TV in general, and I watch a lot of it.  Survivor, Project Runway, Dancing With the Stars, and I could go on but I won’t. 

The very first time I saw American Idol I was actually watching Australian Idol.  We were in Sydney for about a month in the summer of 2007 and I watched the beginning of their season, namely the audition shows.  But we left before things got serious.  And I knew we would be in Rome when Season 7 of American Idol started, so I didn’t give it much thought.

Then we came home from Italy and stayed with my in-laws for a week on the way home.  I watched Idol with my mother in law.  Ah ha!  It’s all her fault.  There I feel better now.  (Just kidding mother in law).  I saw one of the last shows of the season.  They already had it narrowed down to the two Davids and it was their last performance (I think).  Then when we got home I watched the end to see how it turned out.

Which brings me to this season.  First I said, “well, I’ll just watch the audition shows, since those were so funny in Australia”.  I really do admire anybody who has the cojones to stand up there in front of the judges and belt it out with no musical accompaniment at all.  I’m sure it must take nerves of steel.  I really had no inteniton of watching the entire season.  But then I got suckered in.  And now I am watching it twice a week every week.  And I have favorites!  And I voted!  Good gravy, what is happening to me? 

It’s a busy TV night tonight.  The DVR will be smoking.  Survivor is on tonight, and so is The Office.  I am hoping I can watch Survivor online tomorrow.  I think I can on the CBS website.  I can only record one thing at a time on the DVR and I simply must watch the Idol results show to see if my favorite made it through.

ER is on tonight too.  I started watching that again since this is the last season the last season.  I used to watch it all the time.  During the first season I used to sit in my London apartment and weep every time they showed location shots around Chicago because I was so homesick.  But I gave it up when Anthony Edwards left.  I have watched off and on ever since, but not with the same devotion.  Now Dr. Carter is back and clearly unwell.  I don’t think I can watch if they are going to kill off Dr. Carter.  Why is ER always so sad when Noah Wyle comes back? 

So if you want to find me tonight I will be in front of the TV, with a puddle of melted brain cells at my feet.

One thought on “American Idol and other guilty pleasures

  1. Oh don’t worry – you’re not alone – ha ha – I’ve always been an American Idol Junkie though. I never really vote, but I like watching {shrug}.

Leave a Reply

