The library

The new John Grisham book The Associate was published today.  I’m a big fan.  Imagine how happy I was to discover that a copy was already waiting for me at the local library.  I had completely forgotten that I had even put it on hold.  I raced over there this morning and picked it up.  I will probably be able to write a review of it in the next couple of days.  Grisham is usually a pretty quick read.

I love the library.  And I seem to love it more and more all the time.  We have a very good library for a town of our size, and between the kids and myself we usually have at least 20 things checked out at any given time.

So what is so great about the library?  Well, if you check a book out of the library, read 50 pages and decide it is stupid and boring and not worth your time, you don’t feel guilty about not finishing it.  I knowI am more willing to try new authors and new kinds of books knowing that I can just take it back guilt free if it isn’t for me.  You can’t really do that if you buy it at Borders or some other bookstore.

But, really the best thing about library books is that when you are finished reading them, you don’t have to figure out where to put them.  As someone who already has more books than shelving, this is a huge bonus.  Instead of trying to decide which teetering pile to place your latest acquisition on, you can just chuck it back into the library bag.  Once it goes back, it’s not your problem anymore.  Hooray.

One thought on “The library

Leave a Reply

