The Sopranos

Tom and I have been watching The Sopranos on DVD for about the last two years.  We get them from Netflix.  I love this show.  I love how much I am rooting for Tony Soprano even though he is a thug and a murderer and, well, not to put too fine a point on it, a criminal.  It’s one of the best TV shows I have ever seen.

Now we are rapidly approaching the end.  I think we have one DVD left and I think that DVD has three episodes on it.  And yes, I realize that Tom and I are probably the last two people on earth who have not seen the entire series.

I’m very torn about how to proceed now.  Part of me wants to stretch it out, and maybe only watch one episode every other week instead of every week, to make it last longer.  Another part of me wants to set aside one whole evening and watch all the episodes we have left back-to-back-to-back.  It’s a dilemma. 

I remember I felt the same way when I was reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.  Part of me didn’t want to put the book down because I was dying to see how it ended.  And part of me wanted to take it really really slowly because I knew it was the last one, and that once I finished it, there wouldn’t be any more. 

With Harry, speed won out over enjoying the moment. It remains to be seen what will happen with The Sopranos.   Tom says he votes for speed.

I am also thinking of going back to Season One and starting the whole thing over again.

Leave a Reply

