One year ago…

One year ago we were stumbling around Rome, trying to find our feet and overcome the jet-lag.  Needless to say it has been on my mind.  And now a friend of mine is thinking about taking her family on the same program next fall.  I am so jealous.

While I am thinking about it, and for future reference since we plan to go back someday, I thought I would list some of the things I did not take with me that I wish I had.

  • A pedometer – just for sheer stupid curiosity
  • More socks – I always seemed to be running out
  • Cumin and Chili Powder – my mom brought some over for us, which was great.  I never did find any over there and it made a nice change occasionally.
  • A kitchen timer would have been handy
  • Ziplock bags – you can’t get them over there
  • Extra deodorant – very hard to find
  • Peanut Butter – my mother in law brought some and it was a lifesaver when we were traveling at the end of our stay
  • Children’s Tylenol – there were many times I wished I had remembered to bring this

I am sure more will come to me the more I think about this but I will keep them to myself.

Leave a Reply

