A Year in the World

I am reading A Year in the World by Frances Mayes.  She wrote Under the Tuscan Sun, for those of you who are keeping score.  This is not a review because I have not finished the book.  But the book seems to be about taking a year off to just travel.  Wouldn’t that be a dream come true? 

Even though I am nowhere near done with the book, it has me thinking about where I would go if I had a whole year to travel and unlimited funds to do it.  In the book I think they are spending a month in each location.  So here is a list of 12 places I would like to go.  I would use one place as a base camp and then explore the surrounding area from there.

Africa – not sure where base camp would be, but I would love to see Cairo and the pyramids.  I would also love to go to Morocco and go on an African Safari.  A really, really nice one.  For example, one with  Abercrombie and Kent (I did say money was no object).

England – I’ve spent enough time in London to choke a pig, but there are lots of places I have never seen.  Cornwall, for example and Whitby.  Whitby is way up north, and is the setting for a large part of Dracula by Bram Stoker.  I would also love to visit Yorkshire and see the moors, and visit the Bronte house. 

France – I’ve only ever been to Paris.  I would like to see more of the countryside. 

Italy – Base camp would be Rome (unless we were there in the summer, then someplace in northern Italy).  I want to spend more time in Amalfi, go to Capri, visit Milan and finally see DaVinci’s Last Supper.  And of course, make the pilgrimage to Maranello to see Galleria Ferrari.  (Oh, sorry that website is in Italian).

Portugal – I’ve never been, and I have wanted to for a long time

Monaco – Of course we would have to see the Grand Prix in Monte Carlo.  Doesn’t everyone want to see that?  If money is no object, then why not?

Spain – Again, I have never been to Spain.  It would be great to see Barcelona, go to Madrid, visit the Prado, and eat a lot of tapas.  Maybe I can go to Fernando Alonso’s hometown too.  I think they have a museum there with a bunch of his old racing stuff in it.

Japan – I would love to go to Tokyo, and really, the only way to do that is with unlimited funds.

China – I’m not really sure I could manage a whole month in China, but maybe I could do it.  Besides I could always go to Hong Kong if it got too weird.  And it would be a shame to never see the Great Wall or Xian in your life.

Turkey – Must, must MUST go to Istanbul (not Constantinople) someday. 

Greece – Good food, tons of ruins, beaches aplenty.  What’s not to love?

And finally

Australia – We did spend a month in Sydney in 2007, but there is so much more to see.  Melbourne, the outback, the Great Barrier Reef.  Maybe we would need more than a month there…

I feel like there is so much I left out.  I didn’t get anywhere in Central America or South America.  I missed most of Southeast Asia.  Maybe I need two years.

So where would you go if you could go anywhere?

Leave a Reply

